The railway transportation to Russia and the CIS countries is based on the Agreement on International Goods Transport by Rail (SMGS agreement).


SMGS agreement is applied to all transportations of rail cargoes between stations, in compliance with the SMGS waybills and only on a railway network of the countries-participants of the present Agreement.

SMGS waybill is a unified carriage document. This waybill is a documentary execution of the transport agreement between the consignor and the railway administration.

The participants of SMGS agreement include all CIS countries (Commonwealth of Independent States), Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, and also Albania, Bulgaria, Poland, Vietnam, Iran, China, Korea, Mongolia.